Certification of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK Plus) on AWS

Course 1201

  • Duration: 3 days
  • Exam Voucher: Yes
  • Language: English
  • Level: Intermediate

The Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) enables everyone, from information security experts and CEOs, to department managers and technical sales teams, the ability to utilize cloud services more securely and speak with confidence about cloud security concerns.

The CCSK gives a broad overview of cloud security and allows you to gain critical insights into issues such as data security, key management and identity and access management.

CCSK Plus AWS Training Delivery Methods

  • In-Person

  • Online

  • Upskill your whole team by bringing Private Team Training to your facility.

CCSK Plus AWS Training Information

Training Prerequisites

No official work experience is needed, but it is beneficial for attendees to grasp security basics like firewalls, secure development, encryption, and identity & access management.

Certification Information 

Exam Format:

  • Open Book
  • Duration: 90 Minutes
  • Questions: 60 Multiple Choice
  • Passing Score: 80%

CCSK Plus AWS Training Outline

The fundamentals of cloud computing, including definitions, architectures, and the role of virtualization. Key topics include cloud computing service models, delivery models, and fundamental characteristics. It also introduces the Shared Responsibilities Model and a framework for approaching cloud security. 

Topics Covered: 

  • Unit 1 - Introduction to Cloud Computing 
  • Unit 2- Introduction & Cloud Architecture 
  • Unit 3 - Cloud Essential Characteristics 
  • Unit 4 - Cloud Service Models 
  • Unit 5 - Cloud Deployment Models 
  • Unit 6 - Shared Responsibilities 

Delves into the details of securing the core infrastructure for cloud computing- including cloud components, networks, management interfaces, and administrator credentials. It delves into virtual networking and workload security, including the basics of containers and serverless. 

Topics Covered: 

  • Unit 1 - Module Intro 
  • Unit 2 - Intro to Infrastructure Security for Cloud Computing 
  • Unit 3 - Software Defined Networks 
  • Unit 4 - Cloud Network Security 
  • Unit 5 - Securing Compute Workloads 
  • Unit 6 - Management Plane Security 
  • Unit 7 - BCDR 

Covers important considerations for managing security for cloud computing. It begins with risk assessment and governance, then covers legal and compliance issues, such as discovery requirements in the cloud. It also covers important CSA risk tools including the CAIQ, CCM, and STAR registry. 

Topics Covered: 

  • Unit 1 - Module Introduction 
  • Unit 2 - Governance 
  • Unit 3 - Managing Cloud Security Risk 
  • Unit 4 - Legal 
  • Unit 5 - Legal Issues In Cloud 
  • Unit 6 - Compliance 
  • Unit 7 - Audit 
  • Unit 8 - CSA Tools 

Covers information lifecycle management for the cloud and how to apply security controls, with an emphasis on the public cloud. Topics include the Data Security Lifecycle, cloud storage models, data security issues with different delivery models, and managing encryption in and for the cloud, including customer-managed keys (BYOK). 

Topics Covered: 

  • Unit 1 - Module Introduction 
  • Unit 2 - Cloud Data Storage 
  • Unit 3 - Securing Data In The Cloud 
  • Unit 4 - Encryption For IaaS 
  • Unit 5 - Encryption For PaaS & SaaS 
  • Unit 6 - Encryption Key Management 
  • Unit 7 - Other Data Security Options 
  • Unit 8 - Data Security Lifecycle 

Covers identity management and application security for cloud deployments. Topics include federated identity and different IAM applications, secure development, and managing application security in and for the cloud. 

Topics Covered: 

  • Unit 1 - Module Introduction 
  • Unit 2 - Secure Software Development Life Cycle (SSDLC) 
  • Unit 3 - Testing & Assessment 
  • Unit 4 - DevOps 
  • Unit 5 - Secure Operations 
  • Unit 6 - Identity & Access Management Definitions 
  • Unit 7 - IAM Standards 
  • Unit 8 - IAM In Practice 

Key considerations when evaluating, selecting, and managing cloud computing providers. We also discuss the role of Security as a Service providers and the impact of cloud on Incident Response.

Topics Covered: 

  • Unit 1 - Module Introduction 
  • Unit 2 - Selecting A Cloud Provider 
  • Unit 3 - SECaaS Fundamentals 
  • Unit 4 - SECaaS Categories 
  • Unit 5 - Incident Response 
  • Unit 6 - Domain 14 Considerations 
  • Unit 7 - CCSK Exam Preparation 

Students learn what to configure in the first 5 minutes of opening a new cloud account and enable security controls such as MFA, basic monitoring, and IAM. 

IAM and Monitoring In-Depth

Attendees expand their work on the first lab and implement more-complex identity management and monitoring. This includes expanding IAM with Attribute Based Access Controls, implementing security alerting, and understanding how to structure enterprise-scale IAM and monitoring.

Network and Instance Security 

Students create a virtual network (VPC) and implement a baseline security configuration. They also learn how to securely select and launch a virtual machine (instance), run a vulnerability assessment in the cloud, and connect to the instance.

Encryption and Storage Security 

Students expand their deployment by adding a storage volume encrypted with a customer-managed key. They also learn how to secure snapshots and other data.

Application Security and Federation 

Students finish the technical labs by completely building out a 2-tier application and implementing federated identity using OpenID.

Risk and Provider Assessment 

Students use the CSA Cloud Controls Matrix and STAR registry to evaluate risk and select a cloud provider.

Need Help Finding The Right Training Solution?

Our training advisors are here for you.

CCSK Plus AWS Training FAQs

CCSK certification is valid for three years. To renew your certification, you must retake the CCSK exam or earn continuing professional education (CPE) credits by participating in relevant training or activities related to cloud security.

Yes, CCSK certification is recognized globally as a standard for measuring cloud security knowledge and competency.

Many organizations, including government agencies and multinational corporations, value CCSK certification when hiring or promoting cloud security professionals.

CCSK: CCSK certification does not have strict prerequisites, although a basic understanding of cloud computing concepts is recommended. It is achieved by passing a single exam administered by the Cloud Security Alliance.

CCSP: CCSP certification requires candidates to have at least five years of cumulative, paid work experience in information technology, including three years of experience in information security and one year of experience in one or more of the six domains of the CCSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK). Candidates must also pass the CCSP exam.

You will receive your exam voucher directly from the Cloud Security Alliance. It should be received within 5 business days of the conclusion of the training. It will be provided along with your certificate of completion.

Chat With Us